Lycia Tour Diary – Jewels, Leather and a Museum of Toys

Lycia Tour – Day 6

Back to Antalya today, via jewellery and leather.  Didn’t sleep well last night on the crappy camp bed the hotel had provided to make our room into a Twin.  Only getting a sheet didn’t help either and although Mum offered to let me sleep in the double bed with her, she only seemed to have a single duvet! A jumper and extra socks staved off the cold but the bed creaked rather loudly every time I moved which then woke me up. Better nights’ sleep have been had. Crap tea and a toastless breakfast didn’t help my mood but, on the plus side, there were Fruit Loops and Turkish Delight.

First stop was a dreadful bazaar.  We grouped up with another couple and sniggered our way around before making an eventual dash for the exit.  I didn’t look at a lot of the stalls but what I did see was nothing I would ever dream of buying or having a desire to own.  Also didn’t find anything I really liked, or that we could afford at the Jewellery place.  Mum tried on a beautiful black Opal and Diamond necklace which cost about as much as a small car, after some heavy discounts.  When they asked me what my budget was I said I’d take anything they were giving away as my budget allows for that.  Not surprisingly they didn’t have anything to give away.  Once our salesman discovered that we really didn’t want to spend thousands on a piece of jewellery he took us through to the 70% off section and, once that proved too expensive, cut us loose in the silver section.  I had a look at their amethyst rings but not one of them was as nice as the rings I already own.  We even failed to buy anything from the gift shop or café.

Next stop was the leather shop and a rather rowdy fashion show.  I think a number of the female members of our tour group would have gladly had one of the male models were he available.  It’s amazing what a glass of free wine will do to a bunch of middle aged and above ladies!  Tried very hard to avoid any sort of eye contact in the shop – both with the salesmen and the merchandise.  Unfortunately I was spotted smirking at a shocker of a jacket – reminiscent of Michael Jackson’s Thriller days – and was then stalked around the shop by a salesman desperate to get me to try on the jacket I ‘liked’. Eeep!

Once we reached Antalya proper we had about two hours free time to explore.  Mum and I set off in the vague direction of the harbour, despite our guide, concerned we may get lost, trying to give us directions. We found the mosque with a blue tiled minaret and then spotted signs to the Toy Museum.  I’d read about this in the in-flight magazine and, as I do like a good museum, we headed in the direction of the signs.

Ataturk Monument - Antalya
Ataturk Monument – Antalya
Minaret - Antalya
Minaret – Antalya
Minaret - Antalya
Minaret – Antalya
Genuinely thought these were creepy old people at first.  But they're not.
Genuinely thought these were creepy old people at first. But they’re not.
How cute is this dog!
How cute is this dog!

What a true marvel, a wondrous collection of toys from all around the world ranging from the mundane to the bizarre and, sometimes, quite frightening.  I absolutely loved it and goggled and marvelled my way around.  I seriously recommend it to anyone visiting Antalya, especially if, like me, you have a thing for alternative museum collections.

Wizard of Oz dolls (I think someone got cofused between a lion and a leopard) - Toy Museum - Antalya
Wizard of Oz dolls (I think someone got cofused between a lion and a leopard) – Toy Museum – Antalya
Snow White, Prince Charming and all the Dwarfs - Toy Museum - Antalya
Snow White, Prince Charming and all the Dwarfs – Toy Museum – Antalya
The King - Toy Museum - Antalya
The King – Toy Museum – Antalya
Toy Museum - Antalya
Toy Museum – Antalya
No lie the packaging for this says Nutty Mad Indian, with war whoop - Toy Museum - Antalya
No lie the packaging for this says Nutty Mad Indian, with war whoop – Toy Museum – Antalya
Rabbit family - Toy Museum - Antalya
Rabbit family – Toy Museum – Antalya
Just no - Toy Museum - Antalya
Just no – Toy Museum – Antalya
Good Russian Comrade children should all have one of these - Toy Museum - Antalya
Good Russian Comrade children should all have one of these – Toy Museum – Antalya
Barbie and Ken do Star Trek - Toy Museum - Antalya
Barbie and Ken do Star Trek – Toy Museum – Antalya
Toy Museum - Antalya
Toy Museum – Antalya
Just a little bit creepy - Toy Museum - Antalya
Just a little bit creepy – Toy Museum – Antalya
Spock doll - Toy Museum - Antalya
Spock doll – Toy Museum – Antalya
625
Toy Museum – Antalya
Because creepy old men toys and a toy Crapshooter and Bartender is what every child dreams of - toy Museum - Antalya
Because creepy old men toys and a toy Crapshooter and Bartender is what every child dreams of – toy Museum – Antalya
Princess Diana doll - Toy Museum - Antalya
Princess Diana doll – Toy Museum – Antalya

After the glory of the Toy Museum we took in the harbour before heading back to the meeting point to wait for our group to reform. Once together we headed back to the bus and on to the Turkish Night.  Dinner was a lovely affair with great food, plenty of beer and the most impressive array of dancing from stunning belly dancers with the kind of physique I can only dream of having, to regional dances, a drum solo from (I think) Barry Chuckle and the most surreal, captivating, disturbingly beautiful male belly dancer.  I’m still not entirely sure what I witnessed!  Fortunately I have video footage which I can watch and re-watch as often as I like.

Harbour - Antalya
Harbour – Antalya
Harbour - Antalya
Harbour – Antalya
Harbour - Antalya
Harbour – Antalya
Turkish Night - Antalya
Turkish Night – Antalya
Belly Dancers - Turkish Night - Antalya
Belly Dancers – Turkish Night – Antalya
Traditional Turkish Costumes - Turkish Night - Antalya
Traditional Turkish Costumes – Turkish Night – Antalya
Barry Chuckle - Turkish Night - Antalya
Barry Chuckle – Turkish Night – Antalya
Turkish Night - Antalya
Turkish Night – Antalya
Stunning - Turkish Night - Antalya
Stunning – Turkish Night – Antalya
Male Belly Dancer - Turkish Night - Antalya
Male Belly Dancer – Turkish Night – Antalya
Disturbingly Beautiful - Turkish Night - Antalya
Disturbingly Beautiful – Turkish Night – Antalya
Leave a Reply

