Amber’s Guest Blog

A little under a year ago I wrote a guest post for Loren Mathis’ blog promoting Diary of a Hunter. For some reason I never shared the post here as well. Below is the post, the original can be found here; http://lorenmathisbooks.blogspot.co.uk/2014/07/amber-thessaily-guest-post.html

*****

So Metallica play Glastonbury and the world didn’t end. I’ll be honest, I thought it might. Figured the hinky, something’s coming feeling, that there-but-not-quite-there squamous sensation that’s clearly heralding some sort of big bad ‘other’ would turn out to be linked to that. Not because all metal bands are Devil worshiping Satanists, far from it, more that the convergence of that much raw power (the biggest metal band in the world – trust me, they have power, with a capital POW) that close to the Salisbury ley lines would have some sort of huge mystical ramifications. Especially if Hammet is using THAT guitar. For those of us with sight the Tor would be lit up and visible from hundreds of miles around, that was for sure.

But it didn’t happen. And so, instead of holding off an imminent apocalypse, I’m here writing this. A blog. To advertise my book. Right.

Incidentally, Dolly didn’t bring about the end of the world either. I only mention this as a point of interest and because, well, because, to be completely honest, I’m not really sure what else to say. Now if anyone was going to bring about the end of the world and ultimate evil I’d kind of want it to be her. Imagine Dolly in her white and rhinestones, head of a new world order where man is enslaved to the every whim of Demonkind all to the sound of ‘Jolene’…

Actually don’t. Some things are potentially too terrifying, even for the most hardener demon hunter.

Anyway, I digress. Apparently, what I should be writing is some kind of blah, blah, blah about the book I wrote. Far as I can see, there’s not a great deal to say, other than that it’s a good book. No, it’s a great book. I mean, it’s not like I often get the time to set down somewhere and lose myself in a book. Generally, demon hunting doesn’t leave much time for anything more than the usual musty tomes of Demon lore, but, if I had more time for the occasional fiction break, it’s totally the kind of book I would want to set down and read. Well, that’s not entirely true. If I had a choice it’d be those books about the funny wizard guy. Not the David Jason one, the other one. Y’know the one with the skull. His books. Yeah, I’d be reading those. Then my book. Because my book is great – did I say that already?

So, what I’m trying to say is, if you like those books about the funny wizard guy with a skull, then you will probably quite like Diary of a Hunter. By probably quite like, I mean, really like a lot and recommend it to all your friends. As long as the world doesn’t end anytime soon it’ll be available on Amazon and the like (so I’m told anyway). Buy it, read it, love it. Just remember, I’m deadly with most weapons known to man and, if that’s not threat enough, I have access to powers you can only dream about.

Diary of a Hunter, by me Amber Thessaily, out later this year – keep your eyes peeled. You. Will. Love it.

Extract from Diary of a Hunter – Amber Thessaily

My mother was a witch. She was burned alive. Not by a horde of angry villagers, but by something far greater and as part of a plot the discovery of which changes everything. But to tell you what would mean spoilers.

Something is coming, something shrouded in darkness with the desire to end the human race. Last year my dad set off on an around-the-world trip to hook up with other hunters. You see, over the last few years, extreme supernatural occurrences have increased dramatically, leading hunters across the States to consider that something huge is going to happen. My dad, along with a bunch of others, decided strengthening contacts with the rest of the world and investigating what was happening there would be beneficial. I guess he’s kind of an ambassador, working with hunters in Africa or Indonesia or, I dunno, Azerbaijan even, teaching them skills and learning skills and taking notes to bring back in the event of war. Sounds pretty drastic but from what anyone can tell that’s where it’s headed. Seems the ‘children of the night’ are coming to claim back the day, or the night, taking anyone and everyone they can. No farseer can tell any more than that, simply, it’s big and it’s coming. Love that flying blind feeling!

Don’t worry, this is not leading up to being the part of the book where the author has the MC info dump everything you need to know in order to fully understand the story. Mainly because this isn’t a story. Of course, you may think it is. If so that means, you haven’t seen the things that hide in the dark. Or the light for that matter for it’s really only in the movies that the nasties come out at night. If that’s the case, then I’d say it’s a good thing. I have seen things no human being ever should but it’s my job. Me and hunters like me exist to protect you and people like you from the monsters. Because they are real. They’re hiding under your bed…

Twitter- https://twitter.com/Thessaily

Google+ – https://plus.google.com/u/0/100650192736092141678/about

WordPress – https://thessaily.wordpress.com/

Website – http://www.thessaily.co.uk

 Cover and BLurb

One thought on “Amber’s Guest Blog

Leave a Reply

