Things That Made Me Happy – The Week in Review

Some fairly standard, some, not so much…

OK, so we left the week before at the Saturday night, drinking Gin and signing up for dating sites, having spent the evening at the Castle Museum in Norwich. This means the first thing on my list for last week has to be lazy Sundays and a roast at the pub. It’s what every gin night needs to be followed with. This particular pub roast took place at The Bull in Fakenham which does THE BIGGEST Sunday roast for a very reasonable price. Tres delish.

Next up has to be; talking to boys. Well, technically, men (not including the 18 yo who messaged me today on the offchance that maybe what I was lookingfor resided in the heart and mind of an 18 yo. Ummm NO!) and attractive men at that. Following the talking comes the dating, I had a very nice date last Tuesday, with a follow up date today, although I don’t think it’s going to go anywhere. Still the important thing is, I’m back in the game. Hellooooooo boys.

The best thing about going back into dating now, is that I have spent two years figuring me out and I feel I have so much more of an understanding about myself, what I want out of life and what I want out of the person I’d be sharing that life with. I’m much more confident now about getting into a dating situation without losing who I am in an attempt to become someone who pleases the person I’m with, without any compromise. In past relationships I’ve often put myself last, sometimes to the detriment of my own happiness. When those relationships haven’t worked out, it’s taken me a long time to put myself back together, as I’d lost any sense of who I was. I’ve held off dating for so long because I’ve been afraid, after spending so long becoming me, I’d be sacrificing that. This time I’m so much more sure about myself and comfortable with me that I don’t think I’m in danger of it happening. I’m ready to find someone to share my world with, rather than desperate to just be part of someone else’s world.

This week also saw the end of term which, as all teachers will agree, is always something to be happy about. I’ve also signed off all my moderation, my year 12s have sat their exam and year 11 and 13 have only a couple of weeks left. Although I’ve just started the exam marking, which means double work for the next six weeks, it’s OK because we are so close to summer. Six weeks off AND I get to see the beautiful Zola all the way over in Australia. Yeah I might work all the time sometimes (the rest of the time it still feels like it) and I live a million miles away from most of my friends BUT it means I can afford to do amazing things and have fantastic adventures. It also means, when I do have time to hang out, I now find myself, more and more, doing really exciting things with people.

Comic-con for example. I’ve always thought how amazing it would be to go, without actually ever considering that I would, but this year I finally got round to it. I drove down to Surrey to stay with Kat on the Friday night and on Saturday we set off on the train to London town. There we tubed it to Greenwich and then got the cable car across to the Excel centre. I’d sort of dressed up as Napoleon Dynamite – ginger wig, Vote for Pedro t-shit, you get the idea – not the most imaginative or particularly complex cosplay compared to other people there, but still. Me, Kat and Kelvin spent the day wandering the venue admiring models, comics and those really cute kawaii alpacas that suddenly seem to be everywhere (alright I admired the alpacas, the double K mainly looked at comic books and Anime). Conversation revolved around want, want, buy, want, naming the cosplay we recognised and my photo shoot with John Noble (WALTER BISHOP!!!!!!!!!!). For me, the big exciting point was the photo. Even though I’d only have about 30 seconds and would no doubt be unable to actually speak, the fact that I was going to meet Walter Bishop (even though I know he’s not ACTUALLY Walter Bishop) was so incredibly exciting. Even catching a glimpse of Felicia Day – the main reason I wanted to go after hearing she was going to be there from my friend Mel (who also went, along with a couple of other friends, in Starfleet OS uniforms) – didn’t come close to the photo. After, I didn’t know if I wanted to cry, be sick, eat food or go for a smoke. I actually look a little nuts in the photo, with barely contained joy. It’s possibly one of the worst pictures of my face but I don’t care because I know it’s so bad because I was so happy.

Finally, would have to be discovering Anime. As I said, Kat and Kelvin spent a lot of time shopping for Anime at Comic-Con. This is something that, although I’ve enjoyed what I’ve seen, I’ve never really got into. I’ve always meant to but never got round to it. I kinda feel a little overwhelmed by the prospect, as I wouldn’t know where to begin, what’s worth watching or what to avoid. Therefore I’ve never bothered. A lot of people on the Saturday had been sporting the same cosplay – a beige jacket with a symbol on the back – which apparently came from Attack on Titan, something I have totally missed. The double K hadn’t, as they are well versed in Anime, but in my Anime ignorance it had completely passed me by. Fortunately, it’s currently on Netflix which means I can catch up with the rest of the world. In the meantime, we started Hunter X Hunter which I thoroughly enjoyed. I know what I’m going to be doing over the next few weeks, as respite from relentless exam marking, and that’s making up for lost Anime time. As well as Attack on Titan, it turns out Netflix have some good ones currently streaming. This means I can now confidently approach the world of Anime, although one series does not a fan make, it does allow for the prospect of up coming fandom. Through the convenience of modern technology I can dip in and out until I have a good idea of what I like and then I can immerse myself in a whole new world.

That’s pretty much it for last week. Without spoiling next week’s too much, I already have running joy, new ink and further dating tales on the list and it’s only Tuesday! Till next time.

2 thoughts on “Things That Made Me Happy – The Week in Review

Leave a Reply

